A Note to Readers & Perspective Shift

Sasha Stone
8 min readJan 27, 2021

For the 2,000 or so who have subscribed to this Medium profile I thought I would give you a heads up about how and why my perspective has changed so dramatically in the past year. While my political beliefs have not changed much, I have left the Democratic Party and am now a registered independent.

On Twitter, on my website and on my Substack, and certainly on Facebook (which I no longer use) people have come to know me since these platforms began. (Other than on my own site, which predates social media and has been online since 1999) most of my readers in the past few years know me as a fairly standard, fairly outspoken Hillary/Biden supporter. That was my tribe. I probably gained more followers defending and fighting for Hillary Clinton than I ever have covering the Oscar race.

I am not a Trump supporter, nor am I a Conservative, but I can no longer abide dehumanizing them, as I see happening so much on my side of things. Worse, I feel as though the left becoming dangerously close to a fundamentalist religion. That means we have a strict code of conduct, even our own language and doctrine that demands compliance and conformity. While this is surely not true out there in the real world, it is most definitely becoming more and more true in the feedback loop of social media, mainstream media and now, our politicians.

--

--